TERRORISM: 18K & FMJ
USA
Joined
February 10th, 2007 - 17 years ago (21,706 logins)Last Login1 months ago
Completed set of all Time Bombs, including the 18K Solid Gold Time Bomb.

Completed set of all production Juliets.

Eyewear
766

Watches
35

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
801
1M
Jan 13, 2024 1:06 AM

What's the only pair more coveted than the Fandango...?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrafpwAHsUs

3M
Nov 22, 2023 3:49 AM
Mars up:



Thankfully the temple shocks were consistent (15) in both pairs.

1Y
Sep 30, 2022 12:08 AM

For anyone who hasn't had a chance to see the 18K Gold Time Bomb yet:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5XxgEUurmY

1Y
Jun 5, 2022 1:52 AM


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gIqiImqaQO8

2Y
Dec 3, 2021 8:22 PM

Here's something interesting for video game fans on PC:

I recently discovered a site where you can take surveys - which pay out very well - and redeem points (bolts) for Steam games. I've already earned more than 30 games in my spare time. Check this link and register if you're interested:


https://gamesbolt.com/?gm=280165


Hope someone finds this helpful!



2Y
Jun 15, 2021 10:53 AM
Been waiting for this for a while now:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yrCFCdW8gE

Part 2:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTpK2zY6yn8
2Y
Mar 10, 2021 1:23 AM

I might be wrong but most of my O friends aren't dropping 14K at once especially with no heads-up.


15K after tax. Even being as big of an X-Metal (especially Juliet) fan, there's just no way...


"DEDICATED TO PRICING BEYOND REASON."



3Y
Jan 11, 2021 10:58 PM

Heard the Radarlocks were discontinued, so:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bNq1nQfKrA


And those are some amazing Mumbos, Paul!
3Y
Aug 10, 2020 11:42 PM
Congrats again to everyone who managed to acquire a pair. I was actually on the phone at work selling an insurance policy, reading through the legal disclosures, sweating profusely, all while waiting for the last 22 second countdown...

Fortunately, it happened:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8BT5nXsKJo0

4Y
Jul 10, 2019 3:23 AM

Many congrats and all the best to you and yours, Nike.

Thanks, Oak! Paperwork has been submitted to USCIS and we're anxiously awaiting their approval!

4Y
Jul 4, 2019 5:43 PM

Finally able to purchase a wife:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9s5j3bR0tQ

I say "purchase" because she's gonna have to be imported (from the Philippines). It's EXPEN$IVE to import a wife, but she'll definitely be worth it!

7Y
Jun 15, 2016 6:46 PM
That all said having a Display or screen calibrated correctly to ISf standards can make a world of difference taking it to its full potential. Currently i would say most people wouldn't even know and spend thousands for a better picture through replacement, where as for a few hundred and full calibration of there exisiting screen you can achieve a better picture then a full upgrade

Glad you mentioned that. A friend here locally also said the exact same thing. Professional calibration definitely sounds worthwhile.

7Y
Jun 10, 2016 8:50 PM
From my understanding, you really can't compare LED to OLED, as "LED TV's" are actually LCD that use LEDs for backlighting...

Exactly correct, Chris. No backlight = pure blacks, greater contrast (and details in shadows), and more vibrant colors. No comparison.

For the content that's being offered from providers currently, I couldn't see the value added benefit of OLED, and rather opted for a 4K Ultra HD last year; at a fraction of the costs too... I'm personally of the mindset to let this type of technology mature before making an investment.

To each their own; however, I have owned both and have seen the results firsthand. First thing I did after obtaining my OLED was to watch The Force Awakens on blu-ray. I noticed multiple details that I never even knew existed in multiple scenes in the movie - not to mention spectacular blacks and contrast. And this was using the exact same blu-ray player, same HDMI cables, and same AV receiver. The picture quality just blew me away. Same thing when I play DOOM or Halo: blacks and contrast are through the stratosphere, and LED simply cannot compare. You're more than welcome to stop by and see for yourself if you'd like. Just give me a call...

And a Pioneer Kuro Plasma from yrs back is still amazing to this day and beats most of whats on offer today.

personally i see all the new tech as it comes out as i have to install it. Honestly it's all average at best, still prefer the blacks and image of a plasma. OLED will only get better, but for now i will totally bypass LCD/LED and stay with Plasma.

Very true, Mike: plasma still beats most of what is available today; however, plasma is no longer being produced and the OLED panels still beat plasma in both black levels and refresh rate (600Hz vs 1000+ Hz).

And the OLEDs being produced are all 4K now, including both this year's and last year's models. Again, mine was only $3,200 which was very comparable to Samsung's flagship FALD LED panels, so the price was very reasonable (at least for the 2015 OLED models).

Here is a link to the 2016 model. Price will undoubtedly come down, and I'll probably pick one up and sell my current set:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_H8ahNYKsY




7Y
Jun 1, 2016 7:08 PM
I'm way behind the curve on TVs. Still using an LCD 720p model in my bedroom, which is really the only time I get to watch TV. What's the general jist of oled vs regular led.

For those who only watch/use tv occasionally, LED is fine. But for those who want the best performance from their monitors, OLED blows LED out of the water.

Whether it's black levels, viewing angle, refresh rate, or overall contrast ratios, LED cannot compete with OLED - not even the FALD (Full Array Local Dimming) LEDs.

Check the reviews on Youtube or anywhere else online. Here is a great comparison video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ogjW7NLD8w

Although, I have not noticed any judder at all on my OLED (as the narrator mentioned - he is also using a generation older model than mine, the 65EG9600), and this issue can be largely corrected by making adjustments on the older models by calibrating the settings.

And price? $3,200. That's in the same ballpark as the high-end flagship FALD LED models from Samsung (i.e., JS9500 or JK9800). LED is obsolete because it has a backlight. Even as good as FALD is, it cannot achieve perfect black levels like OLED because that backlight bleeds through, no matter what.

And mine is the 65EF9500, which is flat, not curved...

My prediction: in about 8 - 10 years LED will no longer be in production. As of now OLED is by far the most superior display technology available!







7Y
Jun 1, 2016 8:17 AM


After waiting two and a half years, the day has finally arrived.

Without question, this is the best picture that money can buy. If anyone has the opportunity to purchase one, by all means do so.

I will never - EVER - go back to LED! It is completely obsolete!

8Y
Feb 24, 2016 10:01 AM


Oakley compression shorts. Great for workouts. Trust me.
10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Rick....

I owe you so much, my friend. I will try to keep this concise, but I can say that I have a tremendous amount of respect for you and all you've done. Thanks again for everything. And welcome back.

TERRORISM
10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Great write-up, Travis, and very cool to have had the opportunity to meet you at the Co-Pilot event as well.

Thank you for your service to our great country and keep the faith, O-brother.

10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Thank you for taking the time to do the Spotlight and for the write-up, Ian. Hope you get those X-Metals back that you traded away for the new year.

Semper Fi, teufel hunden.

10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
A true Oakley enthusiast through the years! Nice to see you "in the spotlight", Fred!
10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Very interesting write-up. Too bad your racing career was abruptly ended, but at least you still have those nice bikes (and your Oakleys, of course)! Congrats on the Spotlight, Paul!
10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
You're a great guy, David, and an even greater collector; that's truly an amazing number and variety of glasses. Your words are also wise as you encourage others to collect what they truly like versus just adding another pair to their collection, as collections aren't always about numbers. Congrats on the spotlight, and on having such an incredible setup.


10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
I have a deep respect for a man who puts his wife and family before himself, and it certainly seems that you've done exactly that, Mark. Congrats, bro. Your Oakley collection is truly amazing... but your family is PRICELESS!

10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Wow, Chris! I didn't even know you were among us! You need to post a little more often. I mean, you must be a cool guy... after all, you recommend putting Oakleys as a priority before food.


10Y
Nov 12, 2013 12:12 AM
Oh, yeah: your dog looks vicious.

View All 1597 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2024 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2024 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2024 by their owners...or Rick.