skull.jacket: Steve Youngman
NM, USA, NA, PE, SOL
Joined
September 14th, 2014 - 7 years ago (3,248 logins)Last Login1 hours ago
Found by
Online Reasearch
I am just very very obsessive about a chosen few particular styles of a single brand of eyewear. Is the court-appointed psychiatrist really necessary?

Unknown Jawbreaker lens

Unknown Jawbreaker lens

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Office/desk chairs

Office/desk chairs

General eyewear news

Eyewear
45

Watches
0

Footwear
8

Apparel
13

Accessories
121

Collection
187
13h
Today 12:16 PM
"Vertically polarized to block horizontal light"

All my Oakley polarized lenses go dark when turned to their side, orientating the light to the lens horizontal axis. The pics you posted have the Jawbreaker lens doing the opposite. It looks like it is polarized all right, but the filter was applied backwards. Unless I am missing something here, this looks like the smoking gun.

1W
Oct 8, 2021 12:59 PM
I'm not sold on these new colors, but if they were gonna refresh a boot model this one definitely deserves it. I really like this boot a lot, especially the sole design. It wears super light and feels more like a running shoe, not clunky and cloddy like traditional boots. If I were to make one real change to these, it would be to strengthen the lower eyelets. Right now they are just holes in the leather and really need some reinforcement.

The color on the Black model looks okay; not sure if I can say the same for the Coyote or Tan tho. Yikes! But I am encouraged by this release. Maybe we can look forward to some more variations.
1W
Oct 2, 2021 4:40 PM
I picked up some metal frames recently.



A Carbon Hatchet, a Pewter Box Spring 4.0, and a Pewter Coilover.



I was particularly impressed with the Box Spring and Coilover. I usually find RX frames to be either pretty bland or visually superfluous. I had been curious about these two for a while now and finally decided to pull the trigger on a couple of Ebay listings.



These temple springs are pretty wild! Anyone might know of more Oakley models that have employed this type of spring design?

2W
Oct 1, 2021 1:29 PM
Just a quick thought as I read this thread .... I am really glad models like the Plazma & Clifden are getting this kind of attention. It means they are at least popular enough to warrant these types of releases. I like that these in particular are doing well, and not just focusing on more Frogs or Holbrooks or Flak 2s. I'm not necessarily knocking those models as they do quite well for Oakley. I'm just really glad that newer, more unconventional designs are getting that special treatment also. I hope this adds into their continued development of the unconventional, giving me a reason to stay in the game and get excited about new releases. It might be too much to ask for either the Kato or Encoder to eventually make it to OCP, but if either does it would be another indication that the unconventional does quite well in the market.
1M
Sep 14, 2021 12:29 AM
I know there have been a lot different types of Foakley mashups, but I haven't seen anything like these before. They are pretty terrifying. I couldn't help but to stare:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/READ-Oakley-RACING-METALLIC-GREEN-RED-Sunglasses-VINTAGE-RARE-/324788846531?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&_trksid=p2349624.m46890.l49286&mkrid=711-127632-2357-0

These actually make me appreciate the Fandangos a little bit. Fandangos seem more sophisticated by comparison. I normally would drop a line like "hey, those are fake", or whatever. But I am at a loss for words on this one.
1M
Sep 3, 2021 4:00 AM
Yep, Fuse does offer lenses for the Wiretap, and their quality is pretty good for aftermarket. I have used Fuse in the past and don't have any compaints, at least for the price. If you want decent lenses now, they will do do quite well in a pinch.

If you aren't in a big rush, you could consider Ebay to find some original lenses. It doesn't look like there are many Wiretap lens listings at the moment, but patience does pervail. It just depends on how long you are willing to wait and hunt for a particular pair of lenses, like the Ice Iridium.

There may even be a few members here who might have some for sale, although I wouldn't count on it unless someone speaks up now. Vintage models like this one don't have too many loose components floating around.

If you want Oakley authenticity without the long wait, you can always have a pair custom cut from an original set. Wiretap has a failry small orbital, so finding a larger lens with the same base curve shoudn't be too difficult. It would just be a matter of finding someone with a professional hand to do the cutting, some even here on O-Review. It ends up being more expensive this way because you would first pay for the new lenses and then again for the custom cutting. But you do have the advantage of potentially picking a more modern Oakley lens vs. the few OEM options that were available for the Wiretap at the time.

So if you just want a quick restore, then Fuse is definitely the way to go. However, there are more options available the further down the rabbit hole you go. The older a model is, the less and less original parts are available, and the more compromises you might have to make. We've all been there at one time or another (and got quite carried away too). Good luck to to you!
1M
Aug 25, 2021 12:37 PM
Welcome!
1M
Aug 18, 2021 6:36 AM
Welcome!
2M
Aug 14, 2021 2:43 PM
I take it those holes are for screws or maybe pins? I would assume that means the Xeus shouldn't experience the same mounting issues as did the Kato.
2M
Aug 4, 2021 10:17 PM
Welcome!
2M
Aug 3, 2021 12:40 PM
Welcome to O-Review, Michael!
2M
Aug 1, 2021 6:33 PM
This one is very intriguing! There is quite a bit going on with this design, maybe a little bit too much going on all at once. I think it kinda muddles the overall look, although that just might be this particular colorway choice. Regardless, it proves the wheels are still turning over there at One Icon, and I would be very interested in seeing some more colorway variations, perhaps a dual Iridium combo like the EV Zero. It kinda sucks this will be a limited release, but I hope that won't automatically preempt a potential future release, or at least a variation of this from eventually coming out. I mean, Oakley did release the Kato and to me the Kato looked like it had "limited" written all over it. This is pretty exciting!
3M
Jul 6, 2021 4:25 PM
This one may look ugly as sin, but I can totally see this one being super comfortable. As long as the orbital portion doesn't sit too forward heavy on the nose it could be a winner, fit-wise.
3M
Jul 6, 2021 4:22 PM
Wow, that took me a minute to see the two-tone finish. I thought it was that CGI shine they sometimes gloss on the image.
3M
Jul 6, 2021 4:15 PM
Welcome!
3M
Jul 6, 2021 4:14 PM
Looks like it might be reusing the Clifden lens? Maybe just deceptively similar, but it would be that much better if it was the same lens.
3M
Jul 1, 2021 8:21 PM

Peel again.

Hahaha difficult. Challenge again. - O_taj1242


I take it that's the same Kato as before?
3M
Jun 26, 2021 12:55 AM
Welcome, lurker! Good to have you!
4M
May 25, 2021 10:26 PM
Welcome!
5M
May 14, 2021 10:06 PM
Hey! Great into! Welcome, and good to have you.
6M
Apr 14, 2021 7:51 PM
Welcome!
6M
Apr 6, 2021 9:10 PM
Hello and welcome!
6M
Apr 6, 2021 8:27 PM
I haven't seen the Hannibal until just now, but it looks pretty sweet. The switchlock function reminds me a bit of the ESS Rollbar. And those recessed molded icons ... that's actually a good idea for an SI model.
6M
Apr 1, 2021 12:36 PM
Welcome!
6M
Mar 31, 2021 5:48 AM
Welcome!
View All 583 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2021 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2021 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2021 by their owners...or Rick.