B3: Bob Russell
Ohio
Joined
August 29th, 2007 - 16 years ago (10,297 logins)Last Login7 hours ago
Found by
Random Oakley searches
My name is Bob, I'm from Ohio. I graduated from Ohio State with a degree in mechanical engineering. I submitted my resume to Oakley, but I never heard from them. It was worth a shot, right?

I guess it all started back when I was a kid admiring my favorite baseball players who of course sported M Frames. I wrote a kiddy letter to Oakley and they were kind enough to send back a few ads, planting a seed for eternity.

I?d never really considered collecting until my status crossed over from full time student to full time employee. Having some expendable cash helped me take the plunge.

I always enjoy getting to know fellow reviewers, so say hi if you have time.

Ojector

Ojector

FMJ_Comparison_5

FMJ_Comparison_4

FMJ_Comparison_3

FMJ_Comparison_2

FMJ_Comparison_1

Oakley Cabinet Dimensions (Cacatman)

Eyewear
99

Watches
9

Footwear
5

Apparel
23

Accessories
41

Collection
177
1W
Feb 16, 2024 1:13 PM
What did the F stand for?
2M
Nov 27, 2023 2:39 PM
Welcome to the OR!
4M
Oct 20, 2023 1:45 PM
In our hearts, you never left.
4M
Oct 3, 2023 12:38 PM
Welcome kiopsentro!
5M
Aug 30, 2023 3:28 PM
A frame 1.0 Ruby clear custom cut
- O_taj1242

That is a great photo as well! What was the stock this was cut from?
7M
Jul 25, 2023 1:29 PM
Just yell on Facebook that these aren't *real* X-Metal - Dann

Careful with that Dann. Next thing you know, they'll start a line of re-released X-Metal in a family they'll call "Lifestyle Jackets." Database implosion.
7M
Jul 21, 2023 12:48 PM
Thank you both. I'll report back once I try it for the next fool who looks it up.
7M
Jul 20, 2023 1:35 PM
Anybody have knowledge about this hinge before I take a hammer to it?
7M
Jul 18, 2023 1:21 AM
Alright fellas, I know one of you has torn apart this hinge type and can help me out. I have a pair of these with a pin/screw sticking out the bottom of the hinge. I was about to try tapping it back in and realized it might have threads on it that my aging eyes cannot see.

How do I get this sucker back in? On the other hinge it is beyond flush with the frame - it's fully recessed in the hole.


7M
Jul 7, 2023 12:42 PM
You all probably know this, but the full version of that image shows a bit more detail of the back. Looks like it wraps all the way around the head.

7M
Jul 6, 2023 3:24 PM
My guess is that it looks nothing like a Mars/Moon and is square based lol! - mlmguitar50

I think we have our winner. A square lens Mars.
7M
Jul 6, 2023 3:23 PM
I feel like these are AI generated.
9M
Apr 26, 2023 12:12 PM
Ben, how are those hung on the wall? What's holding them up?
10M
Mar 27, 2023 1:23 PM
This is my simple setup for making YouTube videos. Most of my videos are table top reviews so it works for me. The camera is a Canon M50 in a Small Rig cage. The mic is a Rode Video Micro. So far this combo has served me well. - Eyespy0099

I love Small Rig stuff! What do you have riding on top there - a battery, a hard drive?
10M
Mar 27, 2023 1:22 PM




That looks sweet! Like a superhero.
11M
Mar 23, 2023 11:43 AM
Very cool. What do you hope to shoot with it?
11M
Mar 6, 2023 12:58 PM
I like the use of rubbers on the Actuator. But, I fear they'll be too flat for me like most of the aviator styles. Fingers crossed!
11M
Mar 6, 2023 12:50 PM
Why does the lens portion of the case get so big? It's like a mega-sized hood! Is it just for protection?
1Y
Feb 17, 2023 1:39 PM
The mods to the x-metal might be the best decision I see in this photo.
1Y
Feb 6, 2023 6:31 PM
Nice! Now go find some waves. No whining about the temperature either!
1Y
May 20, 2022 1:21 PM
Nice addition Garth! Is that a sponsored athlete holding a bat, or just a model?
1Y
Feb 28, 2022 2:20 PM
Missing from that image is a release date. Any idea when we can throw money at these?
2Y
Dec 22, 2021 2:34 PM
That's a sweet looking lens O_taj1242!
2Y
Dec 16, 2021 1:35 PM
The best part:
2Y
Dec 2, 2021 12:49 PM
These came in from the States and on the original pics I thought it was a reflection (this is why I needed natural light) but no, if you look closely across the Heater lens along the top of nose you can see a line . Yep another 4.55 pm Friday job from Oakley it looks like they missed part of the process ? It really is subtle and if I had ever seen it before I would say it is a deliberate two tone or graduate/fade but I haven't on an M Frame lens.

Given the age of the pair, I wonder if the lens top was somehow left exposed to light for years, but the bottom half was in shadow. Could it be fading causing the variation? Perhaps a foam M-frame case?
View All 1170 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2024 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2024 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2024 by their owners...or Rick.