Dann: Dann Thombs
Age: 42 / MA
Joined
May 17th, 2004 - 18 years ago (17,934 logins)Last Login5 hours ago
Found by
I ate a chili pepper and when I woke up, this site was here.
Websites
Around Summer 2002, I was spending money on nothing but bills for school and who knows what. My brother had just gotten Scars, to which my impression was "that's really dumb to spend all that money on sunglasses", but then I tried them on and really noticed the difference in quality. I'd never seen a lens be so clear before. My comment was Everything looks like the Autolevel function in Photoshop. What a nerd I am sometimes. At that point the Splice came out and my brother wished he had waited and gotten that instead. So one day when I was at a cookout playing hooky from work, the one shred of champagne taste that I had kicked in and I decided to get a pair

After that, I got a pair of minutes, but they were too girly and didn't look like the online picture, so I gave those to my sister and then got a pair of leather Mars, since they were so odd. That lead to a pair of 24k X-Metal XX's, and a Time Bomb. Then on and on and on. Once the site took off, it was all over. I think I had a dozen or so when that happened.

The P.W. Club ( A.K.A. - Oakley Selfies )

Comics

Comics

Show me something new

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Eyewear
428

Watches
11

Footwear
19

Apparel
130

Accessories
212

Collection
802
6h
Today 2:36 PM
Very cool. Latter Eyeshade, and early Blades overlapped, so it would make sense that the bags would also coincide. Glad everything is back together now.
1D
Sep 30, 2022 9:47 PM
The bag is from the Eyeshade era (the latter portion, as cotton bags came first). The nosepiece is from a Blade/RazorBlade, since early M Frames would have a point in the center, and Zeros/SubZeros would be more rounded instead of that flatter front size.

As for the box, it might be a riser that goes within a box, which would hold things like the bag and other accessories so the glasses can be displays but all the other stuff is tucked away. I know the re-released Frogs in 2009 did it that way, but intact original boxes are hard to come by, so firsthand knowledge is scarce. There isn't much in the way of official photos of the packing materials, and the past few decades have provided ample opportunity for original contents to get mixed up quite a bit.
1D
Sep 30, 2022 9:39 PM
Huge. Looks on par with the Marvels HC that came out
1D
Sep 30, 2022 9:38 PM
Definitely a mix between the original Blade and the Stretchline Razorblade.
2D
Sep 30, 2022 4:07 PM
Feels like a Borderlands accessory.
2D
Sep 30, 2022 4:06 PM
Ink spill

- MicahS


Woah, those are pretty cool.

And nice customs Q
5D
Sep 27, 2022 2:53 PM
Welcome. Good to have you.
5D
Sep 27, 2022 2:52 PM
Arctic Surf/Sapphire looks really nice.
1W
Sep 21, 2022 4:43 PM
That's a perfect choice for the Freestyle Swirl
1W
Sep 21, 2022 4:43 PM
Sick options
2W
Sep 16, 2022 4:05 PM
Excellent
2W
Sep 15, 2022 3:36 PM
Welcome. I usually have a summer pair that I swap out yearly, but I've been stuck on my Mercenary's for a few years now. Probably time I look into something else.
2W
Sep 12, 2022 1:15 AM

Gave them a try. I like them.
3W
Sep 9, 2022 3:00 PM
Still interested in trying the Re:Subzero, but not sure if I'll pull the trigger. I guess I like the original style more at this point.
3W
Sep 7, 2022 5:26 PM
I worry about moving. I've kept them all in the shrink wrap pretty much, mainly because I figure it's the best protection until I actually have time to read them, but I suppose it'll be good for later if I change houses and need to transport them.
3W
Sep 7, 2022 5:23 PM
1. There is a serial on the Juliet, but what does this say? My Juliet is J1017218.

Serials denoted colorways, but also there were some suffixes as Micah noted. The early Plasma frames looked nice, but they tarnished very easily and left ugly black marks where touched or rubbed. A second generation came out which appended an 'A' at the end, followed by a third with 'B', where it remained.

We have a list of serials here, which I've compiled along with some help:
http://o-review.com/forum_detail.php?ID=11867
(You'll notice that the linegear article is formatted similarly because, you know...)


2. I had a hard time finding which model I had since there's no SKU. Is it possible to check with the serial what model that is? My conclusion it's the Plasma with Ice Iridium.

SKUs on the frames didn't begin until late 2004 or so, but only on the non X-Metals. Also the serial engravings also stopped in January 2005, so there was a period of time when the frames had no markings of any kind.

3. Did every X Metal come with a coin?

The larger flat coins came on the initial released from the Romeo to the Penny. After a brief pause in the yearly release of a new model, the Romeo II also had this came style coin, but reused the original Romeo. After another pause the Half-X and X-Squared started using a smaller coin with more relief detail, and I believe the existing models updated too.

4. Did every X Metal come with an X metal logo soft Vault?

I believe these were accessories, not included. The practice of including cases began in 2006 when the Women's specific models came out, since that market expected the addition on par with competitors. Usually the X-Metals were nestled in a pullout box within the main box, so there wasn't room for a case.

5. There are two types of X Metal coins when looking on the internet. Which one is related to my Juliet, the old or the new one?

Yours would be the original flat coin. The new ones tended to come out with what we consider the Hydrophobic lens releases when that was standard for a while. (This was abandoned since the coating wasn't durable). They're often labeled the 4th or 5th generation, but that's a whole other topic to cover.

There's a few more pages with random info here too:

http://o-review.com/information.php
http://o-review.com/forum_threads.php?search=wiki
3W
Sep 6, 2022 3:47 PM
The kids are getting big.
4W
Sep 3, 2022 11:25 AM
Flaks are probably one of the most heavily customized models outside the M Frames and their variants. Don't believe that colorway was offered, buy there have been so many, it's hard to track.
4W
Sep 3, 2022 11:23 AM
An oakley hoarder? Certainly none of those types around here ;) Welcome
4W
Sep 3, 2022 11:22 AM
Nice. I like them a bit more now that I can see them in different angles. Feel free to add this as a video review on the actual Hydra page in the database using the "OmVH-wHn4nc" ID in that section. It'll show up on the front page and give you some extra exposure to boot.
4W
Sep 2, 2022 3:45 PM
I have Wolverine vol 1 & 2, Wolverine and the X-Men, Wolverine goes to Hell, Weapon X: The Return, and the Weapon X Gallery edition (oversized).
Looks like all but Vol 1 is still available on Amazon. Vol 3 will be out in December
4W
Sep 2, 2022 3:09 PM
Get them early. They go out of print fast and then it takes 10 years for a reprint.
1M
Sep 1, 2022 4:19 PM
It's genuine. I got one back in 2005/2006 or so.
1M
Aug 30, 2022 10:57 PM
Incredible. Usually only see that in a catalog.
1M
Aug 26, 2022 2:52 PM
I tried the full sugar (well HFCS) one yesterday. Liked it a little better, but that was a waste of 270 calories.
View All 19530 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2022 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2022 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2022 by their owners...or Rick.