GRFMotorsports: .Greg .F
Missouri
Joined
January 5th, 2012 - 8 years ago (2,559 logins)Last Login16 hours ago

Topcoat

Topcoat

Topcoat

Topcoat

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Your latest purchase

Could you please tell me. M-frame SLASH Gen2 lens

Eyewear
343

Watches
3

Footwear
71

Apparel
18

Accessories
47

Collection
485
16h
Aug 10, 2020 6:32 PM
Cool thread. I've been wondering about this. Two follow up questions though:
- Measuring lenses w/ a vernier caliper: They are 30mm tall; maybe 29.5mm. I measured Ti Wire 2.0, Square Wire 2.0 non-SH, Square Wire 2.0 SH, and Titanium Square Wire 2.0 SH (btw. SH and non-SH lenses aren't interchangeable). Does that mean the 30mm version are .5mm taller to fulfill Australian law, or are they actually taller than 30mm? I would assume the latter if people actually notice a size difference. Can someone measure?
- How tall are the big square wire lenses then?
- What are the differences on the various revisions of Square Wire 2.0 SH?
- andr3



Are you measuring the lens or the frame? When you set a 30mm next to another non 30 mm the difference is noticeable.
3W
Jul 20, 2020 9:04 PM
Good luck!
1M
Jul 7, 2020 4:46 PM
Maybe its just me but when I pull up OR and I see a new reply in this thread I cant wait to see what it is? I get a little excited. At last count I am at about 26-27 Gen I and Gen II M Frames. Got a few of the New M Frames but I just dont get as excited about them.
1M
Jul 2, 2020 4:27 PM



- HED4JC



Oakley is making boxer shorts again???? - GRFMotorsports

Nah... old stock PE boxers. Someone from ebay was unloading so I got all the colors of the rainbow lol - HED4JC



Ah... OK. Im still wearing mine from however long ago that was. Still have a bout 10 pairs unworn and A LOT worn out down to threads.
1M
Jun 30, 2020 9:23 PM



- HED4JC



Oakley is making boxer shorts again????
1M
Jun 17, 2020 2:03 AM
They are definitely not SW 2.0. I posted up a link to the model that looks the closest to me already.
2M
May 29, 2020 6:36 PM
Just from the pics it looks like one of these.

http://www.o-review.com/database_detail_model.php?ID=2434
2M
May 29, 2020 6:34 PM
First off what you are asking about is a part number, not a serial number. Is that number under the rubber? Looks like an internal number for production. The numbers under the earsocks and not retail model numbers.
2M
May 25, 2020 3:53 PM
I dont believe they were available in 96. My Corten pair does not have the wrap around label. Im assuming this was toward the end of the run and were out of wrapped boxes.
2M
May 25, 2020 12:15 AM
Sorry Paul, this probably isnt going to be much help.

All of the wrap around labels are the same and all dated 1997.

BTW, that's a lot of different end labels for such a short run of a model.





2M
May 24, 2020 1:29 PM
Ok, so the pairs I've got my eye on are potentially first release with the plain box and then the wrap around came later?

I have all 5 Topcoats with boxes and from what I can see (packed away) all are the plain black box with the monochrome wraparound label. The end labels are all different. One has a picture, the rest are barcode labels. - GRFMotorsports
- flippj



When I have some time I will dig them out and check the dates on the labels.
2M
May 24, 2020 12:55 PM
I have all 5 Topcoats with boxes and from what I can see (packed away) all are the plain black box with the monochrome wraparound label. The end labels are all different. One has a picture, the rest are barcode labels.
2M
May 19, 2020 12:14 AM






Neither one arrived like this but after some lens swapping I am happy with the outcome.
3M
May 10, 2020 3:14 PM
Slate maybe?
3M
May 7, 2020 11:30 PM
Amazing work.
3M
May 5, 2020 4:11 PM
Based on the fact it is vented and has a Zero nose piece attached to it I'm going to venture it is either a G30 or Slate. Sometimes the blueish tint on a G30 is hard to pick up in pictures. The numbers at the top of the lens are the date code or date of production.
3M
May 1, 2020 3:33 PM
Anyone?
3M
Apr 24, 2020 3:32 PM

True to my name... a few OG Fives! Lucked out and found the 10W40 and another Persimmon in better shape than my original pair. I’ll be wearing BOTH of these a lot. And some New Frogskins! Pretty much the only two I’ve been looking for... Crystal Black and Texas Tea. I’m happy.
- fivesguy



Nice additions. I think I am still missing a couple of the original Five to make the set complete.
3M
Apr 22, 2020 3:07 PM
Thanks for the info Oak.


Still looking for catalog references to the Algae pairs.
3M
Apr 20, 2020 1:38 PM
I got tagged on the other forum with a question. Some of the earlier M Frame lenses had date codes and other markings under the nose piece. Does anyone know what NTPC means on the lens? I'm thinking some code for lens use? Military, impact or coating code perhaps?
3M
Apr 18, 2020 1:21 PM
Back from the dead....


I just spent the last 30-40 reviewing this thread.

Does anyone remember or have a copy of any order sheets or literature with the algae M Frame in it? Curious as to available lenses that were offered. - GRFMotorsports



I have 2 pair of algae M frame. There is no box or data. But it has the same specs as M frame gen2 - O_taj1242



That leads me to another question. Does anyone have a box for this pair?
3M
Apr 18, 2020 1:20 PM
Back from the dead....


I just spent the last 30-40 minutes reviewing this thread.

Does anyone remember or have a copy of any order sheets or literature with the algae M Frame in it? Curious as to available lenses that were offered.
3M
Apr 18, 2020 1:18 PM
Back from the dead....


I just spent the last 30-40 reviewing this thread.

Does anyone remember or have a copy of any order sheets or literature with the algae M Frame in it? Curious as to available lenses that were offered. - GRFMotorsports

You looking for that old fold out that used to come with the early 90's frames that had all the nice color photos? One of these?

- Patient_Cero



Just looking for any catalog reference that has the algae frame listed or pictured. I assume the inserts would be the same as the other M's.
6M
Feb 6, 2020 3:15 PM
Is it just the Vancouver olympic pin
that did not come with a back board? - HED4JC


I dont remember ever seeing one. Nice addition with the China pin. I looked a long time before i found mine.
6M
Jan 22, 2020 5:17 PM
Is it just me or does the stretch logo look like something that was on counterfeits a few years back?
View All 1001 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2020 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2020 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2020 by their owners...or Rick.