Oak: Twenty Fifty
Age: 16
Joined
January 13th, 2005 - 16 years ago (17,429 logins)Last Login3 days ago
Found by
Google.com
Oakley collector

new releases

The Cool Things Thread

The Cool Things Thread

Re-Omatter

Transformers

Transformers

Art

Cars to be proud of

Eyewear
319

Watches
10

Footwear
13

Apparel
34

Accessories
278

Collection
654
3D
Jan 17, 2021 4:01 PM
I know Oakley still does impact and optical quality tests for demonstration purposes, but do they still do them against competitors? If so, who are the competitors they've chosen?

I know Oakley's patents started expiring back in 2011 and other companies started incorporating it into their lenses, but I was wondering who Oakley chose to compare their lenses to nowadays so the tests appear favourable.
3D
Jan 17, 2021 3:58 PM
Oak, were you the second place bidder? If not what was your max? lol - Batman1939


I wish I can remember that far back. I also wish I bid $1k on it. As Robert says, it really is a steal. Perhaps not back then but with MJ collectors as fanatic as they are today, $114 is a pittance.
4D
Jan 16, 2021 4:08 PM
Here is something for you crazy collectors to chase: An MJ aluminum business card from when he was on Oakley's board of directors.

Someday I'll find the pics from the auction but in the meantime, here's the old auction. No, I don't own the card (I lost the auction); yes, the auction was won by an O Review member who still owns it:


5D
Jan 15, 2021 4:52 PM
It's even pricier if you factor in you'll have to buy the next round of filters behind it that's not already included in the package (either the reusable one or the performance ones). Still, it'll be worth it to me if it really does eliminate (or greatly reduce) eyewear fogging.

On the bright side, there are more expensive masks out there that make the MSK3 seem like a bargain, such as Parasite's The Blade:

https://www.parasite-design-lab.com/products/the-blade?variant=32016377839714


5D
Jan 15, 2021 4:04 PM
$60 USD/$74 CAD.
5D
Jan 15, 2021 3:51 PM
Oops, I forgot about the criteria of having to be RX-able. No, Kato will not available in prescription at the start.
5D
Jan 15, 2021 2:56 PM
MSK3 is already in O Stores. Not sure when they're hitting Oakley.com, but stores have already gotten limited stock.
5D
Jan 15, 2021 7:40 AM
I don't know a thing about golf eyewear, but if you end up picking up Dark Golf Prizm (and it works well for your game), there's a Kato coming around April/May with that lens so you'll definitely stand out on the course.
6D
Jan 14, 2021 11:22 PM
Anyone know where I can find a similar mask (that's still available) such as the one found in the link below? It'll have to be:
1) Real CF
2) The back of the mask would need to have exposed CF like pictured (the ones on eBay are all covered with foam/padding):

https://pur-carbon.com/collections/pur-mask/products/matte-real-carbon-fiber-original-purmask-deathstroke



6D
Jan 14, 2021 10:24 PM
Sutro Lite is Matte Poseidon/Prizm Road Black; I didn't want to leave you with the impression that all of the Odyssey Collection is colourshift splatter frames.

Didn't look into release month. I always assume February/March for the first wave like it is every year, but I don't really know.
6D
Jan 14, 2021 9:25 PM
Looks to me like a melted jawbone (whithout the switchlock system). - BiGCoB


The JB/RJ was indeed the inspiration for this model.
6D
Jan 14, 2021 9:14 PM
Other than the Wiretap 2.0 Rx in Ti that I mentioned in another thread, you have:
-Trajectory (Nano-Matter orbital + Ti earstems)
-Tensile (O Matter orbital + Ti earstems)
-Activate (O Matter)
-Inner Foil (C5 and SS)
6D
Jan 14, 2021 9:09 PM
There will be an RX version as well (0X5152). Titanium in the RX version vs. C5 in the sunglass version.
6D
Jan 14, 2021 9:04 PM
The first new Sutro I posted's colourway is "Matte Colorshift Splatter w/Prizm Road Jade".

The second one is "Green/Purpleshift w. Prizm Road Black".

It's part of the upcoming Odyssey Collection that'll include other splatter colourshifts (including a Clifden), the holographic Radars, Frogskin Lite, Sylas, Sutro Lite. I'm sure those who like that type of colourways will really like the Clifden colourshift (which reminds me of those black-based easter egg marbles we had as a kid).
6D
Jan 14, 2021 8:57 PM
The Radar I termed the "My Little Pony" pair on the previous page is the Radar EV with the colourway being Holographic/Prizm Grey. There is an Asian Fit Radarlock in the same colourway.

Also, there will be an "Origins Collection" with a Frogskin with CF print + other colourways for the Frogskin, M2, Sutro, etc. that I have no interest in typing out.
6D
Jan 14, 2021 8:52 PM
New blend of O Matter. Kinda, sorta, but not really.

"Developed with the intent to reduce waste in production, Oakley has created a new mixture of O-MatterTM called Re O-Matter.

The material is created by taking excess O-Matter material that would usually be discarded during the manufacturing process and mixing in with fresh O-Matter material.

This new material maintains all of our impact and quality requirements and there is little to no physical difference between O-Matter and Re O-Matter frame material.

Starting in late-2020, select frames styles and finishes will start to have an O FINITY icon on the inside of the temple with the frame information to indicate it has been made from this special material."



6D
Jan 14, 2021 5:17 PM
No, I wouldn’t call it a must have at all, but it is a fun and unexpected crossover. If you like both brands, then go for it; if not, it’s not a big miss. I skipped out on the recent TF crossovers with Ghostbusters, Top Gun and BttF (as well as missing the previous x-overs with Star Wars and Marvel), but was compelled on this one for some reason.
1W
Jan 13, 2021 7:39 PM
Both toy lines being under the Hasbro banner, there of course needs to be a Transformers/X-men crossover. The result is ugly as sin and such a waste....so of course I had to put in a pre-order:

https://hasbropulse.com/products/transformers-generations-collaborative-marvel-comics-x-men-mash-up-ultimate-x-spanse



1W
Jan 13, 2021 4:14 PM
$1,375 for the upcoming Bathgate’s NC-3. Pretty cool the way the mini sculptures use magnetics and modularly pieces together:

1W
Jan 13, 2021 2:57 PM
It’s only relatively recently that WB firmly established its copyrights to the Batmobile in court which is why previous Batmobile builds have occurred:
https://deadline.com/2015/09/batmobile-dc-comics-batman-copyright-lawsuit-warner-bros-1201545884/

With that said, these companies do have some discretion on what to pursue (which is also another reason why Batmobile builds still exist and don’t face seizures like B for Build), and WB hasn’t used a strong of a legal hand as Denice Halicki. I agree Denice has been very over-the-top in her pursuit to protect the Eleanor copyright, and it does a great disservice to her brands.
1W
Jan 13, 2021 7:46 AM
I figured the B for Build thing was bound to happen. It’s like building a replica of the Batmobile to make money off of; if Warner Bros caught wind of it, the lawyers will inevitably come knocking.
1W
Jan 13, 2021 5:47 AM
The slides for the Elite launch event in Mexico:

https://www.slideshare.net/MichelSchnaas/oakleyelitelaunchv2-64448741
1W
Jan 12, 2021 5:00 PM
Holy crow. One of my dream cars, the 1967 Mustang Eleanor “hero” car from the Gone in 60 Seconds movie, is for sale. I don’t know how much the owners are asking for it, but it’s a guarantee it’s many times above my budget:

https://www.chromecars.de/highlights/1967-ford-mustang-eleanor/#/?playlistId=0&videoId=0



1W
Jan 12, 2021 4:49 PM
I would love if they would eventually do a 6-player cabinet. It would necessarily be the size of two machines in one, but what a centrepiece that machine would be for 3/4 arcade cabinet collectors.
1W
Jan 12, 2021 2:10 AM




#23 Jim Rosa splatter razor blade - flippj


Great catch indeed!
View All 11016 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2021 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2021 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2021 by their owners...or Rick.