Oak: Twenty Fifty
Age: 19
Joined
January 13th, 2005 - 19 years ago (17,739 logins)Last Login2 weeks ago
Found by
Google.com
Websites
Oakley collector

Comics

Comics

BXTR display piece?

BXTR display piece?

BXTR display piece?

BXTR display piece?

BXTR display piece?

Bisphaera

Eyewear
382

Watches
11

Footwear
18

Apparel
37

Accessories
327

Collection
775
3W
Jun 27, 2024 2:27 PM
I don't see how someone could recreate a whole Valve themselves, and only make one. Someone testing their machining skills is already doubtful given how close it is in detail to a manufactured piece. But he/she would also have to be recreating something similar to O-matter and creating a Valve the exact way Oakley did. Casting marks are proof of that to me. Here's close-ups of the tips of the ear stem and its differences to a manufactured piece. Both are close in design. But there are slight but noticeable differences in the shape of both. Just like the piece that holds the nose rubber is similar in design. But that is also slightly different. To me it looks like a rough draft Valve.
- Lopaka KaMars


I was about to say that you don't need to replicate the whole thing, just the metal lug. The rest can be either reused parts or customized versions of them. But now that I take a closer look at the pics you re-posted, the fonts used, the nosebomb mounting, the finer details of cast marks vs. Oakley's, etc. look odd. Not that Oakley doesn't have many variations of fonts, nosebomb mountings or casting marks on any given model (I even made a post a while back about OTT "CE" and "Made in the U.S.A" markings), but I'm not sure I'd give the opinion that your Valve is authentic given its consistencies. But like I said, my opinion (any anyone else's for that matter) is useless without strong provonence from Oakley. Good luck on your quest to uncover your mystery.
4W
Jun 23, 2024 3:45 PM
Cool find. I would lean toward it being one of the thousand iterations of true product development prototypes for any given model, but without proper provenance from the development team or someone of notoriety within Oakley (no, someone from customer support or telesales does not count), my opinion is rather meaningless.

That said, during that time period, Oakley did test metal in their O Matter models. There is a Splice with the metal upper orbital and pin holding the arms in that was verified and validated by Peter Yee, so perhaps this was in the same lineage of product development.

Or it could be just someone who wanted to test their machining skills and tools and created metal lugs for a Valve he had on hand. Like how Trevor Hirschi replicated and machined the complex Rogue DZN Revolver ring to test his skills before he started Titan Ring Designs.

Cool stuff, either way.
1M
Jun 21, 2024 8:22 PM
I don't buy new or monthly physical comics anymore. I just can't connect with modern comics...with the exception of the current Transformers book by Daniel Warren Johnson, which is fantastic. I read that online.

When I did buy physical copies monthly, I bought locally. Depending on how much or what I bought, I typically get 30-50% off on new stuff and more-or-less the same on back issues. That's typically better than online sites offer. Not sure if any current stores do that kinda deal anymore (I was with my stores for nearly 30 years).

1M
Jun 3, 2024 6:15 PM
For the omnibus lover, you may want to pick up the upcoming DC vs. Marvel and Amalgam omnibii. These inter-company things are always limited in time or printings by virtue of their contracts, so pick them up while you can:

DC vs. Marvel: Amalgam

DC vs. Marvel

I recently picked up the Monster-Sized Hellboy. 1,500 pages of glorious story at the size of a DC Absolute (the biggest size that can fit into a standard shelf without doing modifications):



1M
May 24, 2024 1:08 PM
We all will be very, very disappointed. At least in the short term. This thing is more like a vehicle for concepts, ideas, and the “potential” rather than actual products. That’s not to say there aren’t cool products coming down the pipe. It just means you won’t see everything realized from the videos.
5M
Jan 31, 2024 6:38 AM
4 colourways for the new SZs. They will have new SKUs.

4 new Eyeshades coming as well, but I’m not sure if it’s coming the first half of the year or the latter half. Listed as a MUZM release, but we’ll see if that’s ultimately the case. One collab pair with the LA84 Foundation..
5M
Jan 27, 2024 3:45 AM
Oakley does a lot of cool stuff for the athletes and influencers. If only they put in half the thought for their consumer products as they do for their athletes. Imagine getting a cool product like some of the more colourful M Kato prototype versions instead of the dull ass 13.11.

One of the cooler cases Oakley has done is the following Future Genesis tube. Not sure if this was released with something for the athletes yet or something for them in the future (like the upcoming wave of Muzm Sub Zero coming out in a few months):




5M
Jan 27, 2024 12:45 AM
It was a package sent out to athletes and influencers last summer. I saw Marina Correia posted about it on IG, as well as other skateboarders:



As to how many, don’t know. This site says it has 750+ available for sale, though you’d likely have your identity stolen once you enter your info:

https://shoplazza.ru/product/364651309285


6M
Jan 18, 2024 11:32 PM
The Grey Smoke is the transparent one:


6M
Jan 18, 2024 11:28 PM
It changes similar to the Sutro Lite.
6M
Jan 18, 2024 10:35 PM
still curious as to what these will look like on the face, etc.
- Patient_Cero



6M
Jan 17, 2024 5:01 PM
No idea what Prizm 2 is. It’s not an Oakley thing and that term is used on a third party site, so not official. Not sure how wholesale accounts are labelling them. Internally, Oakley’s descriptions are more clear cut. The only colourways I see have mismatching orbital/earstem combo is the Neon Orange pair and 10. 10 is Black Ink orbital with tennis ball yellow earstems:


6M
Jan 15, 2024 2:58 PM



The Transparent Stonewash is the Mbappe signature pair.

There are a couple missing, I think. I know the Footprint collection pair will be Neon Orange and Transparent Sepia for the frame,
6M
Jan 15, 2024 6:14 AM
Available:

https://www.oakley.com/en-us/product/W0OO9400?variant=888392620279
6M
Jan 15, 2024 6:13 AM
Now hitting the market:

https://www.oakley.com/en-us/product/W0OO9403?variant=888392619167
6M
Jan 12, 2024 4:15 AM
Couldn’t embed the IG post, but o_taj provided this change video:

https://www.instagram.com/o_taj1242/reel/C18qvh_yv_F/
6M
Jan 9, 2024 4:43 AM
Some are asking if there is a serial number on the box’s metal plate. The simple answer is “no”. Just the mission number (13.11), model number and SKU, and the Future Genesis story on the flip side:



6M
Jan 8, 2024 2:15 PM
I’m gonna be cheering for the Miami Dolphins to win the Super Bowl this year just because Mike McDanel’s been wearing the yellow gold Dita Senator-Three, which really stands out and is a big step up from the Rx frames he’s previously worn. I’ve seen him in DITA Midnight Specials as well, but here’s the Senator from last night’s game (unfortunately a loss):

https://dita.com/products/senator-three?variant=44446669340905


6M
Jan 8, 2024 2:44 AM

I though we were supposed to be getting a red pair and a Grey pair with Ruby. - MicahS





6M
Jan 8, 2024 2:42 AM

6M
Jan 4, 2024 1:15 PM
No, there should be more than that. I don’t know how many, but there should be more than that. The wholesale accounts (even the big ones) don’t always have a glimpse into the online/e-commerce numbers or the boutique distributions.
6M
Jan 3, 2024 9:55 PM
Do we even know what it is made of? Ti, BiO-Matter, C5, etc? I will say that this has a futuristic, sterile, space, astronaut feel to it IMO. Which might be what they were going for with this color-way/version/initial release. - yelkao


O Matter.

6M
Jan 3, 2024 9:10 PM
also, there are some wholesale accounts that actually got the 13.11 before even Christmas, so they are actually in the wild.
6M
Jan 3, 2024 8:53 PM
The question is if everyone is willing to drop $500 on it considering the bland colourway (but with a cool case).

PS. 13.11 stands for the letters of the model. M = 13, K = 11. M Frame Kato.
6M
Dec 24, 2023 11:08 PM
Merry X-mas and happy new year, everyone.
View All 11471 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2024 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2024 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2024 by their owners...or Rick.