ford: Ford .
Perth, West Australia
Joined
September 3rd, 2004 - 19 years ago (3,243 logins)Last Login3 months ago
Found by
Googling for Chop Top 6.0
My Oakley interest and desire does not currently sit on par with my income level (one is less than the other - you decide which is where).

My friends think I'm crazy, but that is nothing compared to everyone else here (I mean that complimentary).

I got into Oakley at the start of the year 2000. A guy at high school had a pair of black Fives and he was telling me how Oakley were the best sunglasses. He brought in his Oakley catalogue (the 1999 catalogue) and I saw for the first time the Romeo and the Juliet. I was completely and utterly hooked.

Then, M:i-2 and X-Men hit, and the Ruby Juliet debuted. Oakleys were definitley getting cooler by the minute.

I went to a local surf shop that was selling their old Oakley stock at half price, so I begged my mum to get me a pair of Black Iridium Eye Jackets for AU $90. It was all downhill from there.

Everyone at school had Oakleys. Most of the girls had Minutes, and some guys did too. A few guys had Fives, but I was the only guy with Eye Jackets.

But then Oakley brought out the Twenty. The FMJ/Ice pair was all the rage for me, so I decided to get rid of the EJ's and invest in some Twentys. I was spending a lot of time on ebay browing the Juliet auctions. A local optometrist had a 20% off sale, and I went in planning to get the Ice Twenty, but walked out with the Ice Juliets!

I found the o-review with four pairs of Oakleys. (Ice Juliet, Black Juliet, Black Splice, Ruby Twenty). If you check out my collection now you will see the damage this place has done! I love it.

Mars

The P.W. Club ( A.K.A. - Oakley Selfies )

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

X-Metal Serial List

Eyewear
0

Watches
0

Footwear
0

Apparel
0

Accessories
0

Collection
49
5M
Feb 21, 2024 8:56 AM
Blast from the past, a couple of well-known (in cricket circles) Aussie cricketers wearing X-metals in 2001.

Adam Gilchrist in ruby Juliets (and a D1 watch...?)





Shane Warne (RIP) in 24k XX (there are heaps of pictures of Shane wearing heaps of different styles of Oakleys over the years, he must have had an awesome sponsorship contract).



7M
Dec 16, 2023 4:19 PM
Big get with Chris Hemsworth posting about these on his Instagram.

chrishemsworth

Cheers @m_experiment for keeping the baby blues in the shade @juzmac





8M
Nov 19, 2023 3:25 PM
That's the TiO2 XX Dann.

I looked up the movie on Wikipedia and the poster looks like the most 90s movie ever, even though it came out in 2002.

8M
Nov 19, 2023 3:16 PM
Wow, that temple shock oversight is shocking - considering there aren't spares in the package (and there absolutely should be).
9M
Oct 5, 2023 8:06 AM
Remember when Oakley sold the excess stock of these in the parking lot for $50 each? Hell, I bought a pair from eBay US for $70 (no box or coin). $2,300 - what a goddamn time to be alive.
1Y
Jul 8, 2023 6:57 AM
You all probably know this, but the full version of that image shows a bit more detail of the back. Looks like it wraps all the way around the head.

- B3


That's insane. Like the Oakley of old.
1Y
Jul 8, 2023 6:57 AM


Just jodiendo. ;) - Patient_Cero


I've learned a new Spanish word!
1Y
Jul 7, 2023 6:30 AM
That's pretty cool he got to keep a pair. Would love to know in what context he put these on for his chat with Ben Schwartz.
1Y
Jul 7, 2023 6:20 AM
M-experiment has dropped a Mars reference.

Is that the design in the background of the image?

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0524/4197/2886/files/M_Whats_Next_Mobile.jpg
- ford


It's called "Over The Moon" keeping with the space theme. - Patient_Cero


Is that inside info or are you just speculating/brainstorming cool names?
1Y
Jul 7, 2023 6:15 AM

M-experiment has dropped a Mars reference.

Is that the design in the background of the image?

https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0524/4197/2886/files/M_Whats_Next_Mobile.jpg
1Y
Feb 12, 2023 9:48 AM
We just need to squint and pretend it's an Eyeshade.

Had no idea that film was coming though - love me some Affleck and Damon. Hopefully the sequel is Jim Jannard courting MJ to get Oakleys on his face.
1Y
Feb 11, 2023 12:10 AM
IDW publishes books they call Artist Editions which reproduce comic art in 1:1 scale. Typically these books are around 13.25” x 19.25” in size. IDW went all out for the Todd McFarlane Artist Edition released last week, however. It tips the scale and also measures a whopping 13.38” x 24.25” for basically the same price as a normal version.

- Oak


I got this one too. It's massive! I also got the omnibuses of McFarlane's run on Amazing Spider-man and his adjectiveless Spiderman. Funnily enough as soon as I ordered them I got a good deal of original ASMs in fairly average condition from issues 304-328 (so missed out on the pricey 298-301 issues) from eBay.

I also sent a few comics to CGC for the McFarlane signing so have a few Spider-man #1s with his signature that I need to sell at some stage.
1Y
Feb 11, 2023 12:09 AM
Yo Dan!!
1Y
Feb 10, 2023 3:08 AM
I don't think this has been mentioned in 30 pages of this thread - but a bad guy is wearing Cheetah Eye Jackets in the 1997 Jackie Chan movie Mr Nice Guy. It's one of Jackie's Hong Kong movies and was filmed in Melbourne, Australia.



You can see it in all its HD-glory in this clip 15 seconds in (with bonus Sammo Hung cameo, he also directed): https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=429858231032867
1Y
Feb 10, 2023 2:58 AM
Great to see the PW thread will never die! This pic's actually from December 2020 but I took it to post in this thread, so better late than never!

I don't buy a lot of Oakley anymore, but I had to get these because they look awesome and I use them when I go running. Oh plus they were half price from oakley.com.au.

Wouldn't mind getting a 24k Kato but not at full price!


3Y
Mar 26, 2021 3:35 AM
What price would this need to lower to for anyone to consider picking it up?
3Y
Nov 26, 2020 6:04 AM
Good article on the history and Instagram-resurgence of Oakley watches.

https://www.highsnobiety.com/p/oakley-watches/
3Y
Aug 14, 2020 2:25 PM
Do you use the cologne and keep the empty bottles, or not spray at all?
3Y
Aug 14, 2020 2:15 PM
That’s really cool they have that, I was heartbroken when I saw what they did to the London store - Nortika


What did they do to the London O-store?
4Y
May 21, 2020 7:31 AM
Now let's get a Royal Oak with the Oakley logo on the dial!
4Y
May 21, 2020 7:27 AM
Some good 4K vision of him wearing the Mars at the '98 celebration. I assume it's the first time footage of him wearing them has been seen in HD - -everything from the time would have been shot on tape, eh?
4Y
May 18, 2020 9:23 AM
Okay, according to this post at the Oakley Forum, Oakley did start engraving J serials on the next generation of X-metal/Ruby Juliets after the X series.
4Y
May 18, 2020 5:58 AM
Any idea what's going on with these X-metal Ruby Juliets?

J###### serial, but has what looks like an official Oakley sticker, with SKU 04-116 which is for the Xmetal/Ruby colourway - but consensus is those came with X###### serials.

Unless it's just a X-metal/Black Iridium frame and someone put in Ruby lenses, and then printed a very authentic looking product sticker...? Fair bit of effort to scam someone. Or Oakley used leftover Xmetal/BI frames and put in Ruby lenses themselves?




https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mint-Oakley-X-Metal-Ruby-Iridium-Juliet-Sunglasses-Serial-J133450/114181068752

Purchased from Oakley directly.
100% authentic - Mint condition
Have been on display but never worn.
Pictures are of the actual glasses you will receive.
Everything in pictures are included, if you want a picture at a certain angle, just ask.
Serial Number - J133450 (pictured)










(images backup: https://imgur.com/a/NNaHagU)
4Y
May 9, 2020 10:34 AM
Such a small one Dann, but I noticed it nonetheless. Ryan Arbabi one-off serial is five numerals, not six. Ryan said he most likely entered the serial in wrong on his collection page.

http://www.o-review.com/forum_detail.php?ID=11867

4Y
May 8, 2020 5:28 AM
For those following this thread closely, no, you weren’t seeing things with the 12-580. The 12-580 was indeed previously entered in the DB as “Polished Black/Ruby Iridium” (as well as the current “Jet Black/Ruby Iridium”), but it was removed recently. Not sure who did it, but maybe it’s for the best; the “Polished Black/Ruby Iridium” box label is rarely seen and the prevailing theory amongst collectors for many years is that Oakley switched over from Polished Black to Jet Black very early on in its run. - Oak


Interesting Oak. Makes me wonder what the different is between Jet Black and Polished Black, if any...?
View All 1355 Threads
O-Review Logo & Design
© 2004-2024 Atom Crown Design and DCJ Productions.
Product Images, Logos and Artwork © 1975-2024 Oakley Inc.
All personal photos © 2004-2024 by their owners...or Rick.